Meet Taylor: singer, speaker and amazing gymnast!

Brad interviews Taylor from Ontario

B: What is your name?
T: Taylor

B: How old are you and where are you from?
T: 11, born and raised in Windsor, Ontario Canada

B: How long have you had Tourette Syndrome?
T: 4 yrs.

B: What kinds of symptoms do you have?
T: Currently I grunt, twitch, hop, and hit myself. Over my 4 years though I have had many other symptoms like humming, throat clearing, eye blinking, and others.

B: What is life like for you living with Tourette Syndrome?
T: Sometimes life is very difficult for me especially when I’m going through stressful times or changes in my life and routines. For the most part I appear like a normal kid and life is pretty normal, only those closest to me really know the struggles that I have.

B: What advice can you give other kids who are newly diagnosed with Tourette Syndrome?
T: I would tell kids not to let Tourette Syndrome beat them. You can still live a normal life and do the same things that other kids do, it just might take a little more work and perseverance. Don’t ever give up, always keep trying and believing in yourself.

B: What is the hardest thing about living with Tourette Syndrome?
T: The toughest thing about living with Tourette Syndrome is not knowing what to expect from my body from day to day. Some days my tics seem very minor but then all that can change in a second and my tics overwhelm me to the point that I don’t know what to do. Another hard thing is that I can’t explain what it is really like to other people so it’s hard for them to understand me and why I just can’t “control myself”.

B: What do you think other people should know about Tourette Syndrome?

T: We don’t all swear. You can’t catch it, although it does tend to be hereditary. We’re not freaks. People with Tourette Syndrome are normal, we just have a tougher time dealing with life.

B: What are your strengths and what do you like to do?
T: I am very athletic. I have been a competitive gymnast for the province of Ontario for 4 yrs. I also enjoy track and field events and working out. I am an A student, I love school and do very well at it. My favorite subjects are French, Math and Art. I really enjoy public speaking, the past 3 years I have won 1st place for my school’s public speaking competition, and this year I went all the way to the finals for the entire county. My favorite hobby is singing. I love to write and sing music at school and church and with my dad. And last but not least I enjoy spending time with my best friend Nikki, my cat.

B: What are your goals in life?
T: I’m still very young right now but I think I might want to pursue a career as a primary school teacher or possibly a chiropractor. I still want to remain physically active in gymnastics in some way and certainly continue public speaking and singing.

Leave a Reply