Meet Justin: saxophonist, runner and charitable kid!

Brad interviews Justin from Solon, Ohio

B: What is your name?

J: Justin


B: How old are you and where are you from?

J: I am 13 years old from Solon, OH.


B: How long have you had Tourette Syndrome?

J: Most of my life.


B: What kinds of symptoms do you have?

J: Barking, chomping, full body spasms and certain sounds and words. I also have coprolalia, which means I say some words I wish I wouldn’t.


B: What is life like for you living with Tourette Syndrome?

J: It has brought challenges but I see it as a hill – tough to go up easy to go down. 


B: What advice can you give other kids who are newly diagnosed with Tourette Syndrome?

J: Just go with the flow and don’t let it take over your live. Don’t assume what other people are thinking. 


B: What is the hardest thing about living with Tourette Syndrome?

J: The full body spasms because when I’m walking up the stairs, sometimes I fall down and it hurts.


B: What do you think other people should know about Tourette Syndrome?

J: That if you have it you are the same person but you just make noises and movements.


B: What are your strengths and what do you like to do?

J: I like to play my saxophone and it is one of my strengths.  I like to play video games and I like to run.  I am a very charitable person.  I enjoy giving back to the community and I’m raising money to create awareness of the need for people to be accepting and tolerant of all the differences in people.


B: What are your goals in life?

J: One is to have a good life throughout my life and to raise awareness about tolerance. I’d like to run a full marathon and I’ll decide more as I keep growing up.

Leave a Reply